| |
Southeast District Facebook Twitter Flickr Blog YouTube RSS

Route 60 Caravan Celebrates Completion of Four Lanes from Sikeston to Willow Springs

SIKESTON— United States Senator Kit Bond, United States Representative Jo Ann Emerson and the Missouri Department of Transportation held the Route 60 Caravan from Willow Springs to Sikeston on Friday, August 13.

The Caravan celebrated completion of a four-lane project on Route 60 from Sikeston to Willow Springs. Since the 1980s, approximately $500 million has been allocated to upgrade the route beginning with the construction of the Poplar Bluff bypass. The project was completed in July 2010 when the final section from Winona to Route C in Carter County opened to traffic.  Completion of the project connected the four-lane corridor from Kentucky to Oklahoma.

"Completion of this project has and will continue to serve as the Southern Missouri corridor of commerce," said United States Representative Jo Ann Emerson. "The corridor will provide a safe, efficient means of travel for the public while providing positive economic benefits."

The event kicked-off in Willow Springs at Booster Field and concluded at approximately 5 p.m. with the ending ceremony at the Missouri State Highway Patrol Troop E Satellite Office in Sikeston.   

Additional stops throughout the day included:

• Mountain View event at the Community Center

• Winona event at Twin Pines Conservation Center

• Poplar Bluff event at First Community Bank

• Dexter event at the Dexter sign

"We are pleased that the Route 60 four-lane project has been completed," said Southeast District Engineer Mark Shelton. "This will provide safer, efficient travel between Sikeston and Willow Springs."

For more information, please contact Community Relations Manager Nicole Thieret at (573) 380-5305 or MoDOT's Customer Service Center toll-free at 1-888-ASK-MODOT (1-888-275-6636).



Watch the Route 60 Caravan Stop in Poplar Bluff


Watch the Route 60 Caravan Ending Ceremony


Route 60 Caravan Photos



District Map
Southeast District
Traveler Information
Traveler Map
call, cell, mobile, phone iconText Alerts - Sign Up!
Quick Links
Your Local Area Engineer
Report a Road Concern
Your Local MoDOT
Get your local district information.
Districts Map
Northwest Northeast Kansas City Central St. Louis Southwest Southeast
About Us
How Do I...
Contact Us
Missouri Department of Transportation
Central Office
105 W. Capitol Avenue
Jefferson City, MO 65102
1-888-ASK-MODOT (275-6636)
1-866-831-6277 (Motor Carrier Services)
Drivers License Offices
| | |
Missouri State Government
© 2013 Missouri Department of Transportation. All Rights Reserved.   Privacy Policy.
Wright Douglas Ozark Texas Howell Shannon Oregon Reynolds Carter Ripley Iron Dunklin Pemiscot New Madrid Butler St. Francois Ste. Genevieve Perry Madison Wayne Stoddard Scott Mississippi Bollinger Cape Girardeau Northwest Kansas City Southwest Southeast Central St. Louis Northeast IPhone Android