| |
Southeast District Facebook Twitter Flickr Blog YouTube RSS

PVT Ova A. Kelley Medal of Honor Memorial Bridge Dedication Ceremony

SIKESTON - A dedication ceremony honoring PVT Ova A. Kelley was held Friday, April 13, at 10 a.m. at the Norwood High School gymnasium located at 675 N. Hawk Ave. in Norwood, Mo.

Private Ova A. Kelley was a United States Army soldier and recipient of the United States military’s highest decoration, the Medal of Honor, for his actions in World War II.

Kelley was born in Norwood, Mo., on March 27, 1914. Kelley joined the United States Army and served Company A, 382nd Infantry Regiment, 96th Infantry Division at the time of his death. He single-handedly attacked an entrenched Japanese position and led a charge which destroyed the remainder of the Japanese force on Dec. 8, 1944. He was shot by a sniper soon after and died of his wounds two days later on Dec. 10, 1944. Kelley was laid to rest at Oak Grove Cemetery in Norwood, Mo. and was awarded the Medal of Honor on Oct. 19, 1945.

Representative Tony Dugger sponsored legislation, which named the bridge on Route E over Route 60 in Wright County the PVT Ova A. Kelley Memorial Bridge. Signed by Governor Jay Nixon, the law became effective on Aug. 28, 2011.

Speakers included:

  • Mr. Lincoln Connell, Norwood High School Junior
  • Ms. Megan Hammer, Constituent Services Representative, on behalf of U.S. Senator Claire McCaskill
  • Ms. Stacy Burks, Field Representative, on behalf of U.S. Senator Roy Blunt
  • Ms. Jennifer Riegel, Rolla District Office Director, on behalf of U.S. Representative Jo Ann Emerson
  • State Commander Olin Parks, Missouri Veterans of Foreign Wars
  • Mr. Edwin Wright, PVT in Company K, 382nd Infantry Regiment, 96th Infantry Division (Retired)
  • Mr. Chris Rutledge, Assistant District Engineer, MoDOT

For more information on the dedication ceremony, please contact MoDOT’s Customer Service Center at 1-888-ASK-MODOT (1-888-275-6636).



Watch the Dedication Ceremony

View Photos from the Event



District Map
Southeast District
Traveler Information
Traveler Map
call, cell, mobile, phone iconText Alerts - Sign Up!
Quick Links
Your Local Area Engineer
Report a Road Concern
Your Local MoDOT
Get your local district information.
Districts Map
Northwest Northeast Kansas City Central St. Louis Southwest Southeast
About Us
How Do I...
Contact Us
Missouri Department of Transportation
Central Office
105 W. Capitol Avenue
Jefferson City, MO 65102
1-888-ASK-MODOT (275-6636)
1-866-831-6277 (Motor Carrier Services)
Drivers License Offices
| | |
Missouri State Government
© 2013 Missouri Department of Transportation. All Rights Reserved.   Privacy Policy.
Wright Douglas Ozark Texas Howell Shannon Oregon Reynolds Carter Ripley Iron Dunklin Pemiscot New Madrid Butler St. Francois Ste. Genevieve Perry Madison Wayne Stoddard Scott Mississippi Bollinger Cape Girardeau Northwest Kansas City Southwest Southeast Central St. Louis Northeast IPhone Android