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A lack of behind-the-wheel experience puts new
drivers at a higher risk for traffic crashes. The more
they practice under supervision, the better they will
handle different situations on the road.

It is our hope that acquiring mature driving skills and judgment
will be a rewarding and safe experience for both the \new driver
and their parents. This parent/teen-driving guide provides
suggestions for in-car lessons to help you make this step to
adulthood more successful for both of you.

Make sure you fully understand the Graduated Driver License
(GDL) law located on page 4, then:

* Work through each lesson in order.

» Successfully complete the checklists after each lesson.

 Allow sufficient time for practice with a parent, guardian,
grandparent or a certified driving instructor in the front seat.

» Take the parent/teen quiz at the end of the guide.

» Be patient, it takes many years of practice to become an
experienced driver.
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Missoui Graduated oraver License Law

Missouri’s Graduated Driver License Law requires teen drivers
to gain experience on the road and prove they are good drivers
before graduating to a full license.

All first-time drivers between 15 and 18 years old must complete
a period of driving with a licensed driver (instruction permit) and
restricted driving (intermediate license) before getting a full driver
license.

The instruction permit phase of GDL requires teens to spend a
minimum of 40 hours of driving, including a minimum of 10 hours
of behind-the-wheel driving instruction that occurs during the
nighttime hours falling between sunset and sunrise.

Step One: Instruction Permit
Eligible Age: 15

Cost: $3.50

Valid for: 0-12 Months

To Obtain:

* You must pass the vision, road sign, and written tests.

* A qualified person must accompany you to the license office
to sign a permission statement.

Read the Missouri Driver Guide. This booklet is yodr':bhe{s.'t_

resource for understanding driving laws and regulations..

Pick one up at any: !

‘ da ]
,» Department of Revenue branch or fee licensing office "

L]

.+ State Highway Patrol Troop Headquarters ;
_ i _» State Highway Patrol Driver Examination Office

Permit Notes:

Under age 16, you may drive only when accompanied in the
front seat by a parent or guardian, grandparent, or qualified
driving instructor.

At age 16 or older, you may drive when accompanied in the
front seat by a person who is at least 21 years old and has a
valid driver license.

The driver and all passengers must wear safety belts.

Your test paper alone is not legal for driving. Be sure to carry
your permit with you.

You may renew your instruction permit.

To Graduate to an Intermediate License:

You must have an instruction permit for a minimum of 182 days
(beginning the day after issuance).

You may not have any alcohol-related convictions in the last 12
months and no traffic convictions within the last 6 months.

You must have received 40 hours of driving instruction, includ-
ing a minimum of 10 hours of nighttime driving instruction
between sunset and sunrise, with a qualified person, grand-
parent, or qualified driving instructor.



Step Two: Intermediate License * You must pass the - " Items that must be accessible to =

Eligible Age: 16 to 18 VIS.IOI'I, road s.lgn, alnd " ! you every.tlme you are behind
written tests if previous - - the wheel:
Cost: $7.50 eallEere e e Instruction Permit (if license
Valid for: 0-2 Years one year old. ha.s not b.een obtained)
v ¢ th Drivers License
To Obtain: o.u. I Pt A1t Vehicle registration
driving test.

* You must hold the instruction permit for at least 182 days (be-
ginning the day after issuance).

* You may not have any alcohol-related offenses in the last 12
months and no traffic convictions in the last 6 months.

* A qualified person or grandparent must accompany you
to the license office to verify (see Log Book in this manual)
you have received 40 hours of driving instruction, including a
minimum of 10 hours of nighttime driving instruction between
sunset and sunrise.

Proof of insurance coverage

License Notes:

* Your test paper alone
is not legal for driving.
Be sure to carry your
intermediate license with you. ‘

* The driver and all passengers must wear safety belts.,

- Passenger restrictions outlined below may not be applicable to
an intermediate license holder who is operating in agricultural

work-related activities.

Driving Restrictions:

* During the first 6 months, you may not operate a motor
vehicle with more than one passenger who is under 19
years old and who is not a member of your immediate
family.

+ After the first 6 months, you may not operate a motor
vehicle with more than three passengers who are
under 19 years old and who are not members of your
immediate family.

* You may not drive alone between 1 a.m. — 5 a.m.
except to and from a school activity, job, or for an
emergency, unless accompanied by a licensed driver
21 years old or older.

To Graduate to an Under-21 Full Driver License:

* Your driving privilege cannot be suspended, revoked,
or denied at the time of application.

* You may not have any alcohol-related offenses or traf-
fic convictions within the last 12 months.




Step Three: Under 21 Full Driver License
Eligible Age: 18

Cost: $10

Valid for: 0-3 Years

To Obtain:

* You must satisfy the requirements for an Intermediate License,
including having no alcohol-related offenses or traffic convic-
tions in the last 12 months.

* You must have a valid intermediate license. Your driving privi-
lege cannot be suspended, revoked, or denied when you apply
for a full license.

» You must pass the vision and road sign recognition tests. (You
are not required to pass the written and driving tests if already
completed.)

Definitions

Immediate family shall include parents, grandparents, brothers,
sisters, stepbrothers, stepsisters, and adopted or foster children
residing in the driver's household. Parent shall include a foster
parent, stepparent or adoptive parent. Grandparent shall include
a foster grandparent, step-grandparent or adoptive grandparent.

Qualified driving instructor is defined as an instructor who has
a valid driver education endorsement on a teaching certificate is-
sued by the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education,
or a driver training instructor employed by a private driver educa-
tion program.

Qualified person is a parent, legal guardian or certified trainer

with a federal residential job-training program.
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4o Hours in the Car With My Pagents?

The 40 hours of driving practice may seem like a lot, but this
requirement will provide ample time for you to practice driving in a
variety of situations, at different locations and at varying times of
the day. This experience will help you become more confident and
improve your driving skills so you are prepared when it’s time to
get a driver’s license.

Follow these tips for safe driving:
* Get to know your car.

» Always wear your safety belt and make sure all passengers
are wearing safety belts.

» Drive sober and ride only with sober drivers. Missouri enforces
the Zero Tolerance law (refer to page 38) for individuals under
21 years of age.

» Drive defensively.

» Avoid distractions — focus on your driving.

« Obey all traffic rules, signs, signals and markings.

* Be alert and anticipate what other drivers might do.

+ Be careful at all intersections — think ahead.

« Don’t load up your car with more passengers than allowed
by law.

» Stay calm.

+ Don’t exceed the posted speed limit or drive faster than you
can handle.

+ Don't let friends drive your car.

* Don’t use your cell phone while driving (texting while driving is
against the law if you are under 22).
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40 Hours in the Car With My Teen?

Teaching your teen to drive will take patience and your full atten-
tion. Your new driver will make mistakes at first. That's normal.
The key is to stay positive for your teen.

Follow these tips to make driving time with your teen positive and

productive:

+ Set a good example when you drive. Obey all traffic laws and
drive courteously. Wear your safety belt and make sure all
other passengers are buckled up as well.

+ Be enthusiastic. Most teens are excited about getting their
driver license. Don’t make the learning experience seem like a
chore.

Use positive reinforcement. When your teen is doing well, let
him or her know. When the new driver makes a mistake, use it
as a chance to teach.

Be ready to assume control of the vehicle.

+ Verbal control — give clear, specific directions that allow the
new driver plenty of time to react. Don’t yell.

+ Passive control — Be ready to slightly turn the steering
wheel to help your new driver avoid a dangerous situation.

+ Full control — Take control of the steering wheel. You may
also need to use one foot to control the brake. Once safe,
stay calm and talk to your new driver about what happened.

Practice in a vehicle that is in good working condition. If pos-
sible, use the vehicle your teen will be driving regularly.

Practice in a safe place before hitting the road.



Lesson \: Before You Hit the Road

Before doing any actual driving, you should have knowledge of
the vehicle. Practice using these controls while the car is running
with the transmission in the park/neutral position.

ﬁli_:

Safety Belts

Adjust the seat so you can see clearly ;
out of the vehicles windows and 7§ & *'-_"'\.\\
windshield. After the seat is adjusted, k§
correctly buckle your safety belt. This
means both the lap and shoulder belt '+
without tangles or twists securely :
across the chest and hips.

Air Bags N
Air bags were created to enhance the

safety of the safety belts in case of a vehicle accident. Sit at least
10 inches from the air bag compartments.

Mirrors

Adjust all mirrors so that you have the best view of what is hap-
pening behind and on all sides of the vehicle. Although the mirrors
help, there will still be blind spots that the mirrors do not cover. Be
sure to turn your head to the left and right to check these areas.

Fuel Gauge

The fuel gauge does not always give an accurate picture of how
much gas is in the vehicle’s tank. It is always best to put gas in the
tank before the gauge enters the highlighted “empty” area.

Headlights and Warning Lights

You are responsible for using the exterior lights at appropriate
times and knowing the laws regarding their use. For instance, if
your windshield
wipers are on, the
headlights must be
on also.

o
=

Every vehicle has

(LLAL DR TS

interior warning
lights to notify you
of problems with
the vehicle. Most
have warning lights for temperature, oil and battery issues. Make
sure you know what the warning lights mean in the vehicle and to
have the car serviced if necessary.




Maintaining the Vehicle Lesson \ Checidist:

You should have some basic knowledge about vehicle mainte-
nance, particularly with the vehicle you will be driving on a regular
basis. Review and practice maintaining the vehicle’s following
areas:

Do not move on to the next lesson until you understand how each
of the items in the list work. Additional items may be added.

+  Fueling the car O Safety belts O Windshield wipers and

» Tire pressure O Speedometer washer fluid

. Eng|.ne oil (check the dipstick) . O Odometer O  Sun visors

» Radiator coolant (check the plastic overflow bottle) O  Heater/air conditioner/

» Battery (check for tight connections) O Fuelgauge

p t's Tin: E is diff LB i i O Headlights (running defroster

arent’s Tip: very. car is di erer.1 . Be sure your ee.n practices lights, low bsameiandlighMRERRE e

on the car he/she will regularly drive. Locate the vehicle owner beams)

manual and review it with your teen. O Steering wheel adjustments
O Tumn signals O Window controls

~ O Hazard lights O Radio controls
ﬁ O Dimmer switch E e
S é O Hom O Check engine oil
= ‘_C-: O Ignition O Check radiator coolant

O Gear shift O Check battery
D Accelerator pedal O Check tire pressure
O Brake pedal O ‘
O  Clutch pedal (if applicable) \
O Emergency brake O
O Side and rearview mirrors O
Notes:




Lesson 2: Reading the Signs

It is very important that you understand all highway traffic signs
and signals. The Department of Revenue’s Missouri Driver
Guide can provide additional information and guidelines on signs,
signals and markings.

Traffic Signs

Words, symbols and shapes are used to give information quickly
and at a glance. The shape and color of the signs give clues to
the type of information provided. Some important sign colors and
shapes to recognize:

* Red — Stop, Yield, or Prohibited
* Yellow — Warning

« Black/White — Regulatory

» Orange — Construction

* Octagon — Stop

« Triangle — Yield

» Vertical Rectangle — Regulatory
» Pentagon — School

* Diamond — Warning

* Cross buck or round — railroad

Lesson 2 Activity
Match the traffic signs below with their meanings.

A. Signal ahead E. Keep right

B. School crossing F. Slippery when wet

C. Merge G. Lane ends/merge left
D H

No U-Turn Railroad crossing

D

€ 0 0 0
Vi

Match the sign shapes to the messages below:

A. Yield C. Stop
B. One way D. Deer crossing

CAA K

1.C, 2.B, 3.H, 4F, 5E, 6.A, 7.D, 8.G
1.C, 2A, 3B, 4D



\_le .SSOh" 5. Ma ot eRin g DP—W“‘Q S\Ckug

Yc_)u will need plenty of practice handling a moving vehicle. Follow-
ing are specific driving skills you should practice with your parents
in.a vehicle. '
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Parent’s Tip: Take your teen to practice in a safe location, such
as an empty parking lot, before moving to a roadway. Do not teach
shortcuts or improper procedures.

Starting and Stopping

Acceleration should be slow and smooth. This will take practice.
Pressure should be applied to the pedal with the ball of the foot
instead of the whole foot.

Slowing down and/or stopping should also be steady and smooth.
Practice easing the ball of the foot off of the gas pedal and gently
applying the brake pedal in the same manner. Smooth, steady
deceleration is used during normal driving conditions, however,
being able to brake quickly is also important for emergency situa-
tions. Firm steady, pressure should be used with anti-lock brakes.

Maintaining Steady Speed

Practice keeping the vehicle at an appropriate, steady speed and
periodically check the speedometer. Head checks can also be
practiced while the vehicle is moving slowly to get a feel for how to
safely look away from the driving lane to check for objects on the
sides and behind the vehicle.

Turning

The recommended
driver hand posi-
tionis 9 and 3
o’clock. Because
the hands are
never on the top
of the steer-

ing wheel, this
position allows

for more control

of the steering
wheel. This means
less chance of injury to
the face by the hands and o
arms in a frontal crash where

the vehicle is equipped with a driver side air bag.

Use both hands in a hand-over-hand motion for turns. Hold onto
the wheel and move the hand opposite the direction you're turning
toward the other hand. For example, if you're turning to the right,
your left hand will hold onto the wheel and move the wheel to the
right. When your left hand gets to 3 o’clock, take your other hand
and cross it over the one holding onto the wheel. Grab onto the
wheel at the position your other hand just left. Continue this mo-
tion until the turn is complete. In the case of a right hand turn, your
right hand will cross over your left and grab the steering wheel at
3 o’clock.




Practice:
» Using the correct turn signal about 100 feet before the turn or
intersection.

* Placing the vehicle in the proper lane.

* Checking traffic in all directions.

» Slowing down or stopping prior to the turn.
* Yielding to other vehicles and pedestrians.

Backing Up
When it is necessary to back the vehicle into a parking space or
out of a driveway, always:
+ Check for traffic, pedestrians, parked cars and low stationary
objects behind you.
» Turn your head to look out the rear window. Don't rely on your
mirrors.
 Place your right arm at the back of the passenger seat and look
through the rear window. Place your left hand at the top of the
steering wheel. When you want to change directions, move your
left hand in the direction you want the rear of the car to go.
» Make small corrections to the steering wheel.

44
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» Keep your foot in light contact with the brake while the car \ '
moving backward (ride the brake). \ |

+ Glance quickly to the front and sides to check traffic then con- ~
tinue looking through the rear window as you brake smoothly.

» Never back up faster than a walking pace. When you get close
to an object, back up inch by inch.

Changing Lanes

When changing lanes, always put the turn signal on prior to re-
positioning the vehicle to give other drivers plenty of warning. Be
sure to check for traffic on all sides, checking for blind spots and
motorcycles, before slowly repositioning the vehicle in the lane.

Off-Road Recovery

When a car runs off the road, many drivers initial response is to

panic and overcorrect causing the driver to lose control of the car.

Do not practice this activitiy but be aware of the steps that should

be taken if the vehicle should travel off the roadway:

* Remain calm; don’t panic and overcorrect.

+ Keep a firm grip on the wheel.

+ Ease off the gas and stay off brake.

* Turn your wheel 1/8 turn to the left.

*  When you feel your tires hit pavement again, turn wheen 1/4
turn to the right.

« Ease back onto the roadway.

Intersections

Intersections can be dangerous places for new drivers. There is
a lot of activity and rules to remember when traveling through an
intersection. Always slow down, look both ways, and check for
oncoming traffic and pedestrians. Be prepared to stop or get your
vehicle out of the way.

Right of Way
At a four-way stop, the vehicle arriving first should have the right
of way. Come to a complete stop and proceed with caution. If



unsure who has the right of way, use eye contact and communica-
tion with the other drivers and proceed with caution when it is safe
to do so. At an intersection without a stop sign or traffic signal,
yield to vehicles coming from the right.

Always yield to:

» Ablind pedestrian crossing the street or highway guided by a
dog or carrying a white cane.

» A school bus picking up or dropping off children.

* Any emergency vehicle using sirens and/or flashing lights.

» Railroad crossings. Trains cannot stop in time to avoid hitting a
vehicle.

Merging in Traffic
The right of way belongs to the moving traffic. Other drivers are
not required to change lanes to allow vehicles to enter. When al-
lowing other vehicles to merge, if it is safe, change lanes to allow
the vehicle room to merge. Check mirrors and blind spots, and
use the turn signal if it is
safe to change lanes. If it
is unsafe to change lanes,
it may still be possible to
accelerate or decelerate to
allow others to merge (pro-
vided it is safe to do so).

Passing Other Vehicles

Only pass other vehicles when it is absolutely safe to do so. Use
extreme caution when passing on a two-lane highway. Do not
pass on a hill, curve, no-passing zone or a construction or work
zone. Use care when passing a pedestrian or cyclist. Slow down
and wait for a safe opportunity. Make sure you can clearly see
ahead to determine if there is oncoming traffic before passing. Do
not speed up when being passed. Move a little to the right and

be prepared to slow down if the passing driver suddenly views a
problem ahead while passing.

Parent’s Tip: Have your teen practice passing on a multi-lane
highway (two lanes going the same direction) before passing on a
two-lane highway.

Large Trucks

Never linger alongside a large truck or bus. These types of ve-
hicles have a blind spot or “No-Zone.” If you can’t see the driver’s
face in the side-view mirror, the driver does not know that there is
a vehicle along side his truck or bus.

NO-zONE | — Ml NoO-zONE

Nighttime Driving

After a driver has mastered the basic driving skills during the day,
they may begin learning night driving skills. Nighttime driving re-
quires motorists to drive more slowly since the visibility is reduced
in all directions. Headlights should be on between sunset and
sunrise.




Lesson & Checklist

Starting and stopping

O Starts and stops smoothly

O Keeps speed consistent

O Checks blind spots

Turning

O Signals and slows for all
turns

O Checks all directions for
traffic

O Yields to pedestrians and
oncoming traffic if
appropriate

O Enters turning lane if
available

Backing

O Checks all around vehicle
before moving

O Periodically checks behind
and in front of vehicle

O Maintains slow speed

Changing lane and passing

O Checks mirrors and blind
spots before changing
lanes

O Uses turn signal before
changing lanes

O Does not tailgate before
passing other vehicles

O Before passing, checks

mirrors and blind spots

O Rechecks mirrors again

O Uses turn signal before
pulling out to pass

O Changes lanes smoothly

O Allows safe distance before
returning to the appropriate
driving lane

O Does not pass when it is
not safe

Merging

O Uses turn signal

O Yields right of way

O Checks mirrors and blind
spots

O Enters proper driving lane
when it is safe

O Adjusts to a safe distance
between other vehicles

O Identifies a merging vehicle

O Changes lanes to allow a
vehicle to merge, if safe

Other

O Able to maintain 3-4
seconds behind other
vehicles, when possible

O Maintains vehicle position in
the center of the lane

O Checks mirrors periodically

O  Steers smoothly

Lesson 4: Hitting the Road

Drive defensively.

Avoid danger by recognizing dan-
ger signs early and communicating
with other drivers. Constantly scan
the area you are driving so you can
anticipate and react to any prob-
lems that might arise.

Look Ahead

The path in front of the driver is the most important, but drivers
need to be aware of what is happening on all sides of the vehicle.
Scanning the highway 20 to 30 seconds ahead gives the driver
time to decide what actions may need to be taken. In heavy traf-
fic, the driver should watch for brake lights three or four vehicles




ahead in order to have time to react. Also, don’t forget to use the
rear-view and side-view mirrors to access situations on all sides of
the vehicle.

Keep Your Distance
In normal conditions, the vehicle should stay three to four seconds
behind the vehicle in front. When the vehicle in front pass

a stationary object, count “one one-thousand, two one- i
thousand, etc.” Your vehicle should not pass the object
until the three to four second count is completed.

v |
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If it is dark or raining, the distance should be at
least four seconds. If there is ice or snow on the
ground, stay at least six seconds behind. This will
give you plenty of braking distance in hazardous
conditions.
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Watch Your Speed
The signs posted on the side of the road for the
speed limit are there to tell drivers the maximum

|
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speed allowed by the law. The limit also informs drivers that som
roads are too curvy or dangerous to travel speeds higher than th
posted speed limit. In some weather conditions, the speed limit
is too fast and the driver should slow down to avoid a hazardous
situation. Reaction time is shorter when visual distance is shorte
Driving at the appropriate speed means driving:

» According to traffic and weather conditions.

» Within the posted speed limit for the roadway.

« Within the driver’s abilities, if the driver is uncomfortable they
should slow down or ask someone else to drive.

«  Within the vehicle’s capabilities.

Pay Attention to Your Lane Position

Keep your vehicle in the center of the driving lane, not on the
edges. Small steering adjustments will need to be made to ensure
proper positioning, do not jerk the steering wheel. Both hands
should remain on the steering wheel when making a sharp turn.

Don'’t forget to periodically check all mirrors to keep track of what
is happening on all sides of the vehicle and use head checks for
blind spots!

Parent’s Tip: Remember to lead by example. When you follow

the rules of the road, your new driver is likely to do the same.

Wear your safety belt, obey the speed limit, don’t drive

distracted and never drive under the influence of alcohol
or other drugs.

Lesson 4 Checklist

Watches sides and middle of road

Checks rear view and side mirrors frequently
Follows at a safe distance

Drives at an appropriate speed

Keeps vehicle in center of driving lane
Checks blind spots

OooOoooao




Lesson 5: Pagking Practice

Practice parking in different situations. Never park in front of a
driveway, within 10 feet of a fire hydrant, in or near intersections
or close to crosswalks or stop signs.

Straight and Angle Parking
Entering the space:
» Signal and slow or stop the vehicle
» Drive forward until the whole parking space is visible .
* Turnin, trying to keep equal distance on both sides of the

vehicle
« Pull forward until the vehicle is completely in the space

Exiting the space:

* Check behind the
vehicle for traffic
and pedestrians

* Begin backing out
straight, making
sure the vehicle
clears the other
vehicles

* Begin to turn the
steering wheel,
checking the front
of the vehicle to
ensure it clears
other vehicles

» Continue to check
for traffic and
pedestrians

» Straighten the
vehicle in the
proper lane

Parking on hills:

Park close to the

curb or if there is no curb,
as far away from traffic as
possible

Turn your wheels in the proper direction

(see graphic)

Turn off the motor, putting the car in proper gear

Set the emergency/parking brake

Check your rearview mirror for traffic before stepping out
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Reentering traffic:

Turn on turn signal
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Check for oncoming traffic and pedestrians, including looking

in blind spots
Straighten wheels
Back slowly, if necessary

Move forward, turning the steering wheel toward the traffic lane
Check for oncoming traffic before moving out




Parallel Parking

Entering the space:

Turn on turn signal

Check mirrors to make sure that traffic is slowing

Stop when your steering wheel is even with the steering wheel
of the vehicle in front of the parking space

Back up and turn toward the curb until the vehicle is at a
45-degree angle heading into the parking space

Turn the steering wheel in the opposite direction and continue
backing slowly

Check the vehicle position behind and ahead, making sure the
car does not hit any parked vehicles. Watch for pedestrians
stepping off the curb

When the vehicle is about a foot from the vehicle in back, stop.

Center your vehicle by pulling forward

Exiting the space:

Turn on turn signal
Check for oncoming traffic and pedestrians

PARALLEL PARKING
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Back up until the vehicle is about a foot away from the vehicle
behind you

Check again for traffic and pedestrians; be sure to check
blind spots

Turn the wheel and slowly pull forward into the driving lane
Be careful not to cross the centerline of the roadway

Lesson 5 Checklist

Parking downhill/uphill

OOooOoooao

Uses turn signal

Checks for traffic and pedestrians

Parks within about one ft of the curb

Turns wheels toward the curb

Puts vehicle in park (first gear for standard transmissions)
Applies emergency brake

Parallel Parking

OOooooao

Uses turn signal

Checks for traffic and pedestrians

Correctly positions vehicle in preparation for backing
Correctly backs vehicle into parking space

Stops before changing direction

Correctly centers vehicle

Exiting the space/reentering traffic

OooOooao

Checks available backing distance
Uses turn signal

Checks for traffic and pedestrians in front and back of vehicle

Exits space safely
Does not cross center lane

Angle and 90-degree parking

O
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Uses turn signal

Moves forward until whole space is in view
Turns safely into parking space

Pulls entire vehicle into space

Leaves enough space between other vehicles
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Road Responsivility

Traffic crashes are the number one killer of young people. Please
understand that following the advice on this page can mean the
difference between life and death. Driving a vehicle is a huge
responsibility and should never be taken for granted.

Never Speed

Speeding is a major cause of traffic crashes. Always drive at a
safe speed and never drive faster than the posted speed limit.
More drivers are convicted of speeding than any other traffic of-

fense. Remember, the speed limit is the maximum speed allowed
under normal conditions. The safe speed is the one that allows
complete control of the vehicle.

Do Not Respond to Aggressive Drivers

Any reaction from other drivers usually makes the situation worse.
Do not respond if confronted with an aggressive driver. If an ag-
gressive driver is causing an unsafe situation for other drivers,
stay calm. Stop at a safe place and call the police and /or sheriff
to report the incident. If using a cell phone dial *55 or 911 from a
landline. Do the same if you think a driver is driving impaired.
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Avoid Distractions

All of a driver’s attention needs to be on driving. Distracted drivers
react slower creating a dangerous situation for themselves and
others. Not only do the driver’s eyes and ears need to be focused
on the road, but their mind needs to be focused on the driving task,
too. Some common distractions are:

* Cell phone use/texting

» Eating or drinking

» Adjusting the radio, CD or MP3 player, temperature or other
controls

» Listening to loud music or wearing headphones

« Passengers

¥

Missouri law prohibits drivers 21 years of age or younger—
from sending, reading, or writing an electronic message

.+ while driving. The fine for texting while driving under MIS- Lok
; sourl ’s law is $200.

Stay Alert While Driving '
Watch out for other drivers who are not obeying t'he rules of1;h
road or are driving irresponsibly. Watch for those wh.:;

+ Take wide turns or cut corners N
+ Straddle the center line

+ Pass objects or vehicles too closely . Y o e
+ Drive too fast or too slow R SRS o col
+ Hug the edge of the road ‘ ey el e
+ Weave or zigzag R L
+ Stop and start in a jerky manner £ i
» Follow other vehicles too closely

If anyone is driving unsafely, please pull over to a safe location
and call *55 from a cell phone or 1-800-525-5555 and report the
behavior and license plate number or description of the vehicle to
the Highway Patrol.

Don’t Drive When Tired

Tired drivers are impaired drivers. When a tired driver is behind
the wheel, they have a tendency to drive off the roadway, cross
the centerline, brake frequently, tailgate or drive considerably
under the speed limit. These are all unsafe actions of a driver. If
you feel your eyelids get heavy, and blinking becomes slow and
lethargic, or your head feels heavy and begins to nod, pull over
and rest or ask someone else to drive.

Yield to Emergency Vehicles

Both drivers and pedestrians must yield the right of way to law-
enforcement vehicles, fire engines, and other emergency vehicles
using sirens and/or flashing lights. Slow down and pull to the right
side of the road, if possible. Bring the vehicle to a stop, but be
sure not to block intersections.

Slow Down in Rain, Fog, Snow and Ice
Slow down in these conditions and keep at least twice the normal
stopping distance. A wet road can cause skidding or hydroplaning.

y: B\
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DP;tVihg \.aws + Exchange the following information with those involved in the

crash:
All drivers have legal responsibilities they must follow. Refer to + Names and addresses
the Missouri Driver Guide for additional information about driving + License plate numbers and vehicle identification numbers
laws. + Insurance company names and policy nhumbers

* Do not leave the scene until a law-enforcement officer says
you can.

Windshield Wipers and Headlights

While driving on Missouri’s roadways, headlights are required to
be on when using the windshield wipers and during periods of fog. Law Enforcement Stops
Rain and fog result in reduced visibility. It's better to be seen than
to be in a traffic crash.

Pull off to the right, as far as possible, at the first safe location
and turn on your emergency flashers and engine. Turn the interior
lights on at night. Leave your seat belt on and sit calmly. Place
hands on top of the steering wheel so the officer knows you are
not a threat and follow the officer’s instructions.

Work Zone Safety
Be patient when ap-
proaching road con-
struction areas. These
crews work very hard to
improve the roadways for
motorists. Speed limits
may be lowered in these
areas for your safety and
the safety of the work
crew. The number one
cause of traffic crashes in work zones is driving too fast. Mis-
souri’s penalty for speeding in work zones is very expensive. Slow
down and pay attention in work zones.

Impaired Driving

Drinking alcohol under the age of 21 is illegal in Missouri. And,
driving while impaired, whether by drugs or alcohol, by anyone,
anytime, is illegal. It's very dangerous and sometimes fatal.

Steer Clear

If a crash should occur, call the police and move the vehicle off
the roadway if possible. Vehicles left in the roadway could cause
additional crashes to occur. Turn on your flashers and use reflec-
tors or flashlights to warn approaching traffic.

* Help anyone who is hurt, avoiding direct contact with blood. Do
NOT try to move an injured person unless their safety is at risk.
Make sure someone calls an ambulance if one is needed.




A law enforcement officer has the right to measure the blood
alcohol concentration (BAC) of any driver who appears to be in-
toxicated. BAC is the percentage of alcohol in the body. It can be
measured by testing blood, breath or urine.

Even one drink can raise BAC over the zero tolerance level and
impair the ability to drive safely. Zero tolerance in Missouri means
anyone under 21 driving with a BAC of .02% or higher will have
his or her license suspended for 30 days, followed by 60 days of
restricted driving. If convicted, he or she will also pay a fine and
be required to complete a substance abuse program for traffic
offenders.

Any driver under 21 convicted of an alcohol-related offense within
the last 12 months will not be eligible for a full drivers license until
the offense/conviction date is 12 months old or until you turn 21
(whichever comes first).

Overview Checklist
Now that you’'ve completed all the lessons in this guide, keep track
of what you are doing well and where more practice is needed.

O Completes basic pre-operation checks (tires, area around
vehicle, warning lights)

O Adjusts seat and steering wheel for comfort and control
O Buckles safety belt correctly
O Adjusts mirrors to maximize visibility and minimize blind spots
O Starts engine
O Applies appropriate pressure to gas pedal for smooth

acceleration and proper speed
O Brakes and stops on a hill smoothly
O Turns right safely
O Turns left safely
O Able to angle park
O Able to park at a 90 degree angle
O Able to parallel park
O Able to park uphill
O Able to park downhill
O Observes and obeys the speed limit
O Adjusts the speed for driving conditions . ’
O Understands and uses the apprppriate “seconds” ru.lg for . .

following vehicles . N < g S
O Maintains proper lane posrtio'n’ .
O Changes lanes properly A - 2
O Passes vehicles safely : o v
O Merges safely .
O Communicates with other drivers propetly 4o *

. A -.
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" 5 -'Tesf Your E-nowledge
& “ Parent Quiz

1. Traffic crashes are the third-leading cause of death among
young people ages 15-20.

True False
2. Missouri’'s GDL program requires parents to spend 40 hours of

practice driving, including 10 hours at night, with their teenag-
ers behind the wheel.

True False
3. Under the age of 16, a teen may drive only when accompanied

in the front seat by a qualified person, grandparent, or qualified
driving instructor.

True False
4. Your teen must not have any alcohol-related offenses or traffic

convictions within the last 12 months to graduate through the
licensing phase of the GDL program.

True False

5. The fine for driving while texting for drivers 21 and under is
$25.
True False

6. More drivers are convicted of speeding than any other traffic
offense.
True False

7. During the first six months of an intermediate license, your teen

may not drive with more than one passenger who is under 19
years old and who is not a member of your family.

True False

8. You should teach your teen to apply pressure to the pedal with
their whole foot.

True False

9. Correct steering wheel hand position is 9 and 3 o’clock.

True False

10. Drivers under age 18 are subject to nighttime driving restric-
tions between 1 and 5 a.m.

True False

Parent Quiz Answers:

1. False — Traffic crashes are the leading cause of death among

young people ages 15-20.

True

True

True

False — the fine for texting while driving under Missouri law is . .

$200. L.

True : ELIRAE

True - i , i

8. False — Pressure should be applied to the pedals with the ball bf QA ..1
the foot, not the whole foot. el SRR © g

9. True : »

10. True 4,
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Teen Quiz

1.

Cell phone use while driving is against the law for drivers under
22.

True False

A teen driver is only allowed one traffic conviction within the
last 6 months in order to move to the next phase.

True False

. Safety belts must be worn in the vehicle at all times by

everyone.

True False

. Drivers under age 21 caught driving with alcohol in their

system will lose their driver’s license.

True False

Correct hand positioning on the steering wheel should be at 8
and 5 o’clock.

True False

When making a left turn, the right of way belongs to the
oncoming traffic.

True False

Headlights are required to be on when wipers are on.

True False

Your vehicle should stay to the right-hand side of the driving
lane,

True False

. -If you'rerparking downhill, wheels should be turned toward the

road edge or curb.

True False

10.During the first six months of an intermediate license, you may

i
/ /

not drive with more than one passenger who is under 19 years
old and who is not a member of your family.

True False

Teen Quiz Answers:

N>

9.

Ok Wb~

True

False — you may not have any traffic convictions

True

True

False — Hands should be positioned on the steering wheel at 9
and 3 o’clock.

True

True

False — Keep your vehicle in the center of the lane, not on the
edges.

True

10. True



The following resources. provide additional driving information
and help you understand the importance of safe driving habits. .
Remember to usethe Missouri Driver Guide to supplement this
wockbook.

Missouri Department of Transportation
Highway Safety Division

P.O. Box 270

Jefferson City, MO 65102

800-800-BELT (2358)
www.saveMOlives.com

b

i g L, ™

Missouri Driver’s Guide

Missouri Department of Revenue

Available at branch and fee licensing offices and Missouri State
Highway Patrol Driver Examination offices throughout the state.
www.dor.mo.gov

Missouri Safety Center
University of Central Missouri
Humphreys 200
Warrensburg, MO 64093
800-801-3588
www.safetycenter.ucmo.edu

Federal Highway Administration
www.fhwa.dot.gov

AAA Missouri

12901 North Forty Drive
St. Louis, MO 63141
800-222-7623 ext. 6300
www.ouraaa.com

Insurance Institute for Highway Safety
1005 North Glebe Road, Ste. 800
Arlington, VA 22201

703-247-1500

www.iihs.org



Practice Driiving \.og

Use the driving log on the following pages to track skill progres-
sion as you complete your 40 hours of driving practice.

Remember

Be in a “practicing mood.” Practice when you are in a good
mood and have sufficient time.

Adjust mirrors and seats before starting the vehicle.
Wear your safety belt every time you are in a vehicle.

Come to a complete stop at stop signs and for right turns at
red lights.

Use caution when proceeding from a stop. Look all ways.

Keep your eyes moving. Use the mirrors to check around and
behind the vehicle and don’t forget about the blind spots.

Don’t tailgate. Maintain at least four seconds of space be-
tween your vehicle and others.

Avoid the “No-Zone” of large trucks. Remember if you cannot
see the driver in their mirrors, they cannot see you.

Speed increases braking distance. Double your speed-qua-
druple your braking distance.

Vehicle weight increases braking distance. Double the vehicle
weight-double your braking distance.
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Aha’comy of a Crash

Unfortunately, most drivers are in a crash at some point in their
lifetime. But protecting yourself and your passengers is the most
important part of being a responsible driver. The illustration below
describes the effects of a crash on a person’s body. Without a
safety belt, the damage the human body will experience during

a car crash can be devastating even at low speed crashes. After
the car stops, the body and internal organs continue to fly forward
crashing into whatever stops them, typically the dashboard, wind-
shield or steering wheel. After the body stops the internal organs
continue to crash against the body, this part of the crash can
cause many internal injuries. These injuries caused by a crash
can be avoided by wearing a safety belt.
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